Let it go

As the parent of a 5 year old girl, I have heard the song “Let it go”, from Frozen over and over. I have heard it as “Lek it go” (some speech therapy might improve this) with dramatic hand motions and heartfelt effort. It usually makes me smile and enjoy the notion of my daughter letting her strong emotive self create and express for us to experience.

My life is currently in turmoil, as my wife and I struggle through what our relationship will be. We’ve been married 7 years and the “itch” hit her. As I spend each day struggling to breathe, crying, then not being able to cry and feeling as though I have lost my best friend, I think about letting it go. Do I release her and move to creating a shared future for the best raising of our shared child and my teenage daughter? Do I press and press for us to fight the fight and use counseling and soul searching to see if this can be saved? Is it worth saving? She is the love of my life and I do not feel differently now. She does, however, and it may be that I am better off convincing myself that I am worthy of love in the future than that she should see I am worthy of all of her love.

I will continue to enjoy my child’s singing and expressing. It is not lost on me how much I can learn from her tapping into her emotive self and then giggling afterwards with how fun it was to express herself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

